9.11.09, A personal posting…

Posted on September 11, 2009


Here are the lyrics from a very popular United Live worship song:

“You will above all else
My purpose remains
The art of losing myself
In bringing you praise

My heart and my soul, I give you control
Consume me from the inside out
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love you from the inside out.”

Now, this is my personal opinion, but I don’t know what this means really. If I take time to think about it metaphorically, perhaps – but not simply, directly, or clearly.  I have to re-interpret, re-contextualize, and assume.  Not to mention that this song is bloody hard to sing because the chorus is actually sang an entire octave higher the second time through.

In contrast, I’ve been listening to my daughters’ worship songs from their VBS camp this summer. Here are the lyrics from a song called “God Forgives Us”:

“God forgives us when we do wrong, oh-oh, oh-oh!
So we’ll forgive each other
God forgives us when we do wrong, oh-oh, oh-oh!
So let’s forgive each other too

When a friend’s unfair or doesn’t seem to care
When he makes a promise he won’t keep
When I’m feeling bad cuz someone’s made me mad
I stop and think how God’s forgiven me

People speak their mind with words that are unkind
But we know there are times we’ve done the same
So we will not react or try to get them back
Instead we will forgive in Jesus’ name.”

Now, this makes sense.  I know what I praise God for, and I know what to do as a result.  It is simple and biblical and incredibly applicable to our everyday lives.  And I think that this serves as a good reminder that Christ never called us to “adult” faith – complex, nuanced, and fearful.  He called to live lives of child-like faith – bold, trusting, and simple.  You see, there is a big difference between being “simple”, and being “simplistic”…

Posted in: Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

9.11.09, A personal posting…

Posted on September 11, 2009


Here are the lyrics from a very popular United Live worship song:

“You will above all else
My purpose remains
The art of losing myself
In bringing you praise

My heart and my soul, I give you control
Consume me from the inside out
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love you from the inside out.”

Now, this is my personal opinion, but I don’t know what this means really. If I take time to think about it metaphorically, perhaps – but not simply, directly, or clearly.  I have to re-interpret, re-contextualize, and assume.  Not to mention that this song is bloody hard to sing because the chorus is actually sang an entire octave higher the second time through.

In contrast, I’ve been listening to my daughters’ worship songs from their VBS camp this summer. Here are the lyrics from a song called “God Forgives Us”:

“God forgives us when we do wrong, oh-oh, oh-oh!
So we’ll forgive each other
God forgives us when we do wrong, oh-oh, oh-oh!
So let’s forgive each other too

When a friend’s unfair or doesn’t seem to care
When he makes a promise he won’t keep
When I’m feeling bad cuz someone’s made me mad
I stop and think how God’s forgiven me

People speak their mind with words that are unkind
But we know there are times we’ve done the same
So we will not react or try to get them back
Instead we will forgive in Jesus’ name.”

Now, this makes sense.  I know what I praise God for, and I know what to do as a result.  It is simple and biblical and incredibly applicable to our everyday lives.  And I think that this serves as a good reminder that Christ never called us to “adult” faith – complex, nuanced, and fearful.  He called to live lives of child-like faith – bold, trusting, and simple.  You see, there is a big difference between being “simple”, and being “simplistic”…

Posted in: Uncategorized
Be the first to start a conversation
