12.0.09, Isaiah 41:8-10

8 “But you, O Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
you descendants of Abraham my friend,

9 I took you from the ends of the earth,
from its farthest corners I called you.
I said, ‘You are my servant’;
I have chosen you and have not rejected you.

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Break In Case of Fire

I’m not going to share very much today, nothing especially insightful – I’ve had a difficult day.  But one thing I will share: most of the days of our lives, we don’t find ourselves in the midst of tragedy or catastrophe, and so the promises of God, his faithfulness, his power that we find here seem out of place and overkill.  We don’t really know what to do with them because the circumstances of our lives aren’t really that difficult.

But there inevitably comes a time in every person’s life where they do enter into a difficult season, a season which makes them despair of life itself.  And it is in those moments that these promises of God, so poetic and abundant and seemingly excessive, are just enough to help you get through the day.

It reminds me of the caution they print on the glass casing of fire extinguishers: “Break In Case Of Fire”.  I am finding that the fullest power of Scripture can only be discerned in the midst of the darkest times in life.

12.0.09, Isaiah 41:8-10

8 “But you, O Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
you descendants of Abraham my friend,

9 I took you from the ends of the earth,
from its farthest corners I called you.
I said, ‘You are my servant’;
I have chosen you and have not rejected you.

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Break In Case of Fire

I’m not going to share very much today, nothing especially insightful – I’ve had a difficult day.  But one thing I will share: most of the days of our lives, we don’t find ourselves in the midst of tragedy or catastrophe, and so the promises of God, his faithfulness, his power that we find here seem out of place and overkill.  We don’t really know what to do with them because the circumstances of our lives aren’t really that difficult.

But there inevitably comes a time in every person’s life where they do enter into a difficult season, a season which makes them despair of life itself.  And it is in those moments that these promises of God, so poetic and abundant and seemingly excessive, are just enough to help you get through the day.

It reminds me of the caution they print on the glass casing of fire extinguishers: “Break In Case Of Fire”.  I am finding that the fullest power of Scripture can only be discerned in the midst of the darkest times in life.