Normalcy?!

One year ago, I stopped publishing my blog because my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer – it was almost one year ago to the day.  Since then, my wife has gone through surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation, all while being pregnant.  And in September, she gave birth to our beautiful baby boy, Jonathan!  See requisite cute picture below – look, we have the same hair!

And finally…it’s all over.  Well, as over as cancer ever can be.  The treatments are done, Carol is doing beautifully, our baby is healthy and almost sleeping through the night.  I think we have finally passed through the darkest and most difficult season of our lives thus far.  And now I find myself a little lost, not knowing what to do with myself, and struggling to regain a sense of what life was like before cancer, that sense of normalcy. It was only a year ago, but it feels like a lot longer than that.

But you know…normalcy is terribly overrated.  I don’t really have any aspirations to lead a normal life, if “normal” means complacent, self-centered, whiny, and listless, which is how I would have described my life (and me) before all of this took place.  I think returning to “normal” connotes that nothing has changed, that everything is the same as before, when that is entirely untrue.  Everything has changed.  I am far more sober about life, wiser, more aware of how chaotic life is.  I can truly sympathize because after a life of stifling privilege and selfishness, I have suffered.  And more than ever before, I love my wife and family – not because I will always have them forever…but because I will not.  If normalcy means forgetting these incredible lessons, then forget normalcy.

And so that is what this blog is devoted to.  Previously it was a devotional resource for those who wanted a companion through Scripture, and at times I will use it to that end, and those entries are still stored on site for those who are interested.   But more than that, it is a journal of my life in word and song and picture, and my attempt to share it with the ones I love and with anyone who might be encouraged and blessed by it.  It is a celebration of post-normal life.

If you appreciate what I share, then leave a comment and I will post it and be your best friend forever.  If you don’t like what I have to say, feel free to also leave a comment which I will promptly delete.  And although I am a pastor, this is not connected to my church or to my ministry, not directly at least – these are my own thoughts and experiences.

So stay tuned, more to come!

11 thoughts on “Normalcy?!

  1. “I love my wife and family – not because I will always have them forever…but because I will not”

    i dont know why that line came into perspective so much for me but i think a lot of times i take advantage of the idea that they’re always going to be there. so when i go searching around for other things and people to love me–i dont really consider my family as much as i should…mostly i just fall back on the comfort of it and come back only when i want them…

  2. Peter, this is really encouraging to hear. Keep going, we need to hear it! I’m so glad to hear things are going better now. Peace and blessings to you and the family!

  3. i don’t believe we were ever created to be “normal”; indeed, forget normalcy.

    unless “normalcy” means being radical and lit up and not settling for the mundane and ordinary…

    cheers!

  4. #hanna, i’d be lying if i said i was any different. it took a brush with cancer to make me appreciate how precious the ones i love really are and grasp the reality that they won’t always be there. hopefully it takes less drastic circumstances to make you come to the same realization!

  5. a beautiful post, p.peter…thanks for sharing your heart. praise God for bringing your family through this year. i’m looking forward to reading your posts.

    1. thanks tina! and congrats on grant!!! man, when i left OD, you were right in the middle of a terrible storm, and look where you guys are now – just amazing!

  6. I’m so glad to hear that things are better with the Chin family and that Carol is doing well and little Jonathan is sleeping through the night. Congrats Peter on everything. We are all truly blessed in so many ways, and I’m sincerely glad that everything has worked out the way it has. Please share my hugs and kisses with your whole family. And remember this: “Hey, do I have hat head?” It was probably about 13 years ago.. sigh.. how time flies.

  7. Peter,

    I appreciate what you are doing here on your blog. I know that it will help many get through trials in their lives to share what God has laid on your heart. Life is full of peaks and valleys. Praise God that we have Him to turn to during life’s moments. Carol is a miracle from God’s healing hands, as well as your new son. God Bless. In Christ under grace, Steve

  8. I’ve been waiting a year for you to start updating this again! I am amazed at what God has been doing in your life. Thank you again for being a mentor and inspiration to me throughout college. I look forward to seeing what God has in store for you next. I’m planning on visiting DC next semester. If I do, I’ll definitely come visit you at Riverside. I can’t wait to see Jonathan. I hope you know that you and your family will always be in my prayers!

    1. thanks jeff, for your encouragement – you have always been an encouragement to me as well! look forward to seeing you soon…

Comments are closed.

Normalcy?!

One year ago, I stopped publishing my blog because my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer – it was almost one year ago to the day.  Since then, my wife has gone through surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation, all while being pregnant.  And in September, she gave birth to our beautiful baby boy, Jonathan!  See requisite cute picture below – look, we have the same hair!

And finally…it’s all over.  Well, as over as cancer ever can be.  The treatments are done, Carol is doing beautifully, our baby is healthy and almost sleeping through the night.  I think we have finally passed through the darkest and most difficult season of our lives thus far.  And now I find myself a little lost, not knowing what to do with myself, and struggling to regain a sense of what life was like before cancer, that sense of normalcy. It was only a year ago, but it feels like a lot longer than that.

But you know…normalcy is terribly overrated.  I don’t really have any aspirations to lead a normal life, if “normal” means complacent, self-centered, whiny, and listless, which is how I would have described my life (and me) before all of this took place.  I think returning to “normal” connotes that nothing has changed, that everything is the same as before, when that is entirely untrue.  Everything has changed.  I am far more sober about life, wiser, more aware of how chaotic life is.  I can truly sympathize because after a life of stifling privilege and selfishness, I have suffered.  And more than ever before, I love my wife and family – not because I will always have them forever…but because I will not.  If normalcy means forgetting these incredible lessons, then forget normalcy.

And so that is what this blog is devoted to.  Previously it was a devotional resource for those who wanted a companion through Scripture, and at times I will use it to that end, and those entries are still stored on site for those who are interested.   But more than that, it is a journal of my life in word and song and picture, and my attempt to share it with the ones I love and with anyone who might be encouraged and blessed by it.  It is a celebration of post-normal life.

If you appreciate what I share, then leave a comment and I will post it and be your best friend forever.  If you don’t like what I have to say, feel free to also leave a comment which I will promptly delete.  And although I am a pastor, this is not connected to my church or to my ministry, not directly at least – these are my own thoughts and experiences.

So stay tuned, more to come!

11 thoughts on “Normalcy?!

  1. “I love my wife and family – not because I will always have them forever…but because I will not”

    i dont know why that line came into perspective so much for me but i think a lot of times i take advantage of the idea that they’re always going to be there. so when i go searching around for other things and people to love me–i dont really consider my family as much as i should…mostly i just fall back on the comfort of it and come back only when i want them…

  2. Peter, this is really encouraging to hear. Keep going, we need to hear it! I’m so glad to hear things are going better now. Peace and blessings to you and the family!

  3. i don’t believe we were ever created to be “normal”; indeed, forget normalcy.

    unless “normalcy” means being radical and lit up and not settling for the mundane and ordinary…

    cheers!

  4. #hanna, i’d be lying if i said i was any different. it took a brush with cancer to make me appreciate how precious the ones i love really are and grasp the reality that they won’t always be there. hopefully it takes less drastic circumstances to make you come to the same realization!

  5. a beautiful post, p.peter…thanks for sharing your heart. praise God for bringing your family through this year. i’m looking forward to reading your posts.

    1. thanks tina! and congrats on grant!!! man, when i left OD, you were right in the middle of a terrible storm, and look where you guys are now – just amazing!

  6. I’m so glad to hear that things are better with the Chin family and that Carol is doing well and little Jonathan is sleeping through the night. Congrats Peter on everything. We are all truly blessed in so many ways, and I’m sincerely glad that everything has worked out the way it has. Please share my hugs and kisses with your whole family. And remember this: “Hey, do I have hat head?” It was probably about 13 years ago.. sigh.. how time flies.

  7. Peter,

    I appreciate what you are doing here on your blog. I know that it will help many get through trials in their lives to share what God has laid on your heart. Life is full of peaks and valleys. Praise God that we have Him to turn to during life’s moments. Carol is a miracle from God’s healing hands, as well as your new son. God Bless. In Christ under grace, Steve

  8. I’ve been waiting a year for you to start updating this again! I am amazed at what God has been doing in your life. Thank you again for being a mentor and inspiration to me throughout college. I look forward to seeing what God has in store for you next. I’m planning on visiting DC next semester. If I do, I’ll definitely come visit you at Riverside. I can’t wait to see Jonathan. I hope you know that you and your family will always be in my prayers!

    1. thanks jeff, for your encouragement – you have always been an encouragement to me as well! look forward to seeing you soon…

Comments are closed.