Peter Gets His Groove Back

Allow me to introduce you to two of my favorite Youtube clips of all time, both of them of drummers, and how they relate to one of my resolutions for this year:

Now, these two guys could have just played the beat they were supposed to, and that’s it.  Musicians call it “dialing in”, just doing the bare minimum with minimal investment.  But instead, they choose not only play the beat, but do it their own unique way, limbs flailing, lips snarling, brows furrowing.  Their musicianship is based not on the idea of mere competency, but also self-expression and freedom, all still within the constraints of what they are supposed to be doing.  That is what it means to “groove” – it’s that point at which music transcends its boundaries as a series of order notes and rhythms, and becomes nothing less than the means by which the human spirit expresses itself.

I want to come to the same point in my own life and calling, where I am not just doing what I am supposed to be doing, but there is a sense of self-expression and joy at the same time.  I want to find my groove: to be faithful to the callings and responsibilities that I have, but more than that, to be myself and to have fun within that faithfulness.  To be honest, I would rather have groove than success by any other measure, because I think people who live within their groove are far happier than those who live their lives according to expectations that they don’t really believe in themselves.  In other words, I’d much rather be the drummer of that wedding band in Texas than a famous rockstar who no longer feels the beat in his soul.

Here’s to hoping that we all get our groove back this year!!

3 thoughts on “Peter Gets His Groove Back

    1. again, thanks man – but what in the world do you mean? What is wide mouth smiling in a fancy suit??

Comments are closed.

Peter Gets His Groove Back

Allow me to introduce you to two of my favorite Youtube clips of all time, both of them of drummers, and how they relate to one of my resolutions for this year:

Continue reading “Peter Gets His Groove Back”

3 thoughts on “Peter Gets His Groove Back

    1. again, thanks man – but what in the world do you mean? What is wide mouth smiling in a fancy suit??

Comments are closed.