“Rising”

i want this to be a successful blog, but people tell me that it has to be updated with new content every day…every DAY???  i don’t have time to write something everyday, that’s just crazy.  but, if i don’t have to necessarily write something, then maybe i can just pull it off.   so for your enjoyment, a song called “Rising” that i wrote in college, recorded on my iPhone 4:

the melody and music from the song actually came to me in a dream, which is definitely not my usual form of songwriting.  but the lyrics are based on isaiah 43:19, where it says,

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

i wrote the song because i really struggled with depression throughout high school and college, and these words of hope and promise were sometimes all that i had to hold on to.  and fortunately, i was able to hold on and see God do a new thing – no, many new things, in my life.  i hope that if you find yourself in that dry season, where nothing seems worthwhile, that this promise would sustain you also until you see the dawn of a new day.

enjoy, i’m probably never going to do this again!!

“Rising”

i want this to be a successful blog, but people tell me that it has to be updated with new content every day…every DAY???  i don’t have time to write something everyday, that’s just crazy.  but, if i don’t have to necessarily write something, then maybe i can just pull it off.   so for your enjoyment, a song called “Rising” that i wrote in college, recorded on my iPhone 4:

the melody and music from the song actually came to me in a dream, which is definitely not my usual form of songwriting.  but the lyrics are based on isaiah 43:19, where it says,

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

i wrote the song because i really struggled with depression throughout high school and college, and these words of hope and promise were sometimes all that i had to hold on to.  and fortunately, i was able to hold on and see God do a new thing – no, many new things, in my life.  i hope that if you find yourself in that dry season, where nothing seems worthwhile, that this promise would sustain you also until you see the dawn of a new day.

enjoy, i’m probably never going to do this again!!