Update on Test Results, and More…

so the doctor called us with the preliminary test results from the CVS test carol took last week.  the CVS tests for the three most common kinds of chromosomal abnormalities (like down syndrome), as well as other genetic conditions.  while we have to wait a few weeks for the secondary results about the other possible conditions, the preliminary test results indicate that the baby does not have a chromosomal anomaly, and these results are 99% accurate.  of course, this doesn’t mean that other complications may not arise during pregnancy, but nevertheless, the results were a huge relief to carol and me.  thank you all for your support, encouragements and prayers!

at the same time, i have hard news to share on another front.  the church i pastor has been struggling to grow over the last year, plateauing at 30-40 attenders on average.  we had an important meeting with our denomination yesterday where we found out that our funding is going to end this year, and because our church is too small to sustain itself, it will be nearly impossible for us to continue to do ministry.  and so, the riverside will most likely be closing its doors at the end of january this year.  now, there are details that need to be hammered out in the coming weeks, but i most likely will be looking for a new position starting in 2012.  so please let me know if there are any ministry opportunities that you know of.  carol and i would like to stay in this area, but are open to anything, local or national, long term or temporary.

so how does it feel to be soon-to-be unemployed, with a fourth child on the way?  pretty scary.  but honestly, not as scary as being unemployed with a fourth child with special needs on the way.  and not as bad as being unemployed and with no roof over my head.  not as bad as being unemployed with sense of greater calling or purpose in my life.  not as bad as being unemployed and having no wonderful wife and children to come home to.  in other words, i am not complaining.  guys who have it as good as i do have no right to complain.

i’ll post more once i have had some time to process everything that is going on…

12 thoughts on “Update on Test Results, and More…

  1. you have my prayers and thoughts as well, pastor peter! thanks for sharing the update and i think it’s great that you realize the blessings in your life. often times, as humans in this culture, we focus on the things we do not have and lack rather than the things we do have and should be thankful for. thanksgiving wasn’t even that long ago and we so quickly forget. =)

  2. hi pastor peter! it’s been a while since we last talked/saw each other and i just wanted to say congratulations on your expanding family 🙂 i’m also sorry about riverside. my church is actually looking for a youth pastor right now so i don’t know if you’d be interested in that at all. it’s located in princeton and it’s a predominantly chinese american church.

    pccnj.org

  3. Peter and Carol,

    I’m thrilled about your news on the baby. That’s a HUGE answer to prayer and I know alot off of your minds and hearts. Guys, I think we started our churches at about the same time. Having a baby during the first church previews was tough on us. Having a two year old baby and a two year old church is tough. It has had some effect on my effectiveness at times as a pastor in my late 40’s, but Adam has been a HUGE blessing to me and our entire family. I look for him to do big things for God because I believe his presence in our family is a miracle and blessing from God.

    Having said that, I know that the trials have not ceased since you began. I also know your love for God and I totally believe in both of you. There has been just too much happening at the same time. There have been trials for my family- Multiply that by 100% for you guys. I’m not sure why God has allowed all of that to happen during your church launch, but I know one thing. I really believe that God has special plans for you and again, I BELIEVE IN YOU. I wish MJLifeChurch could hire you but we aren’t in the position to do that.

    Keep hanging in there. Let me know if this Tennessee boy can do anything to help you.

    In Jesus,
    Eddie

    1. eddie, thanks a million times over. this tennessee boy can keep on being who he is, and that would make me very happy.

  4. peter, we’ve never met but i’ve heard many great things about you from minjue and jeannie choi. i just joined the ecc, and i wanted to let you know you and your family are in my prayers, brother.

    1. drew, thanks for the encouragements and prayers! and congrats on joining the covenant! when do you get your ECC tattoo?

Comments are closed.

Update on Test Results, and More…

so the doctor called us with the preliminary test results from the CVS test carol took last week.  the CVS tests for the three most common kinds of chromosomal abnormalities (like down syndrome), as well as other genetic conditions.  while we have to wait a few weeks for the secondary results about the other possible conditions, the preliminary test results indicate that the baby does not have a chromosomal anomaly, and these results are 99% accurate.  of course, this doesn’t mean that other complications may not arise during pregnancy, but nevertheless, the results were a huge relief to carol and me.  thank you all for your support, encouragements and prayers! Continue reading “Update on Test Results, and More…”

12 thoughts on “Update on Test Results, and More…

  1. you have my prayers and thoughts as well, pastor peter! thanks for sharing the update and i think it’s great that you realize the blessings in your life. often times, as humans in this culture, we focus on the things we do not have and lack rather than the things we do have and should be thankful for. thanksgiving wasn’t even that long ago and we so quickly forget. =)

  2. hi pastor peter! it’s been a while since we last talked/saw each other and i just wanted to say congratulations on your expanding family 🙂 i’m also sorry about riverside. my church is actually looking for a youth pastor right now so i don’t know if you’d be interested in that at all. it’s located in princeton and it’s a predominantly chinese american church.

    pccnj.org

  3. Peter and Carol,

    I’m thrilled about your news on the baby. That’s a HUGE answer to prayer and I know alot off of your minds and hearts. Guys, I think we started our churches at about the same time. Having a baby during the first church previews was tough on us. Having a two year old baby and a two year old church is tough. It has had some effect on my effectiveness at times as a pastor in my late 40’s, but Adam has been a HUGE blessing to me and our entire family. I look for him to do big things for God because I believe his presence in our family is a miracle and blessing from God.

    Having said that, I know that the trials have not ceased since you began. I also know your love for God and I totally believe in both of you. There has been just too much happening at the same time. There have been trials for my family- Multiply that by 100% for you guys. I’m not sure why God has allowed all of that to happen during your church launch, but I know one thing. I really believe that God has special plans for you and again, I BELIEVE IN YOU. I wish MJLifeChurch could hire you but we aren’t in the position to do that.

    Keep hanging in there. Let me know if this Tennessee boy can do anything to help you.

    In Jesus,
    Eddie

    1. eddie, thanks a million times over. this tennessee boy can keep on being who he is, and that would make me very happy.

  4. peter, we’ve never met but i’ve heard many great things about you from minjue and jeannie choi. i just joined the ecc, and i wanted to let you know you and your family are in my prayers, brother.

    1. drew, thanks for the encouragements and prayers! and congrats on joining the covenant! when do you get your ECC tattoo?

Comments are closed.