Seasons: A Great Invention

So after two ridiculously heavy posts, I thought it was time for something a bit more light-hearted…

As most of you know, I’m considering a position as a worship pastor, and the church requires that I submit a video of me leading praise to go along with my application, which is actually quite wise.  So I’ve been rummaging through my hard drives, trying to find such a video, with no such luck.  But I DID stumble upon this  little gem, which is from way back in the day when I lived in LA:

My daughters watched this clip alongside of me, and their questions were very strange:

“Do you still have that shirt?”

“Yes, sweetheart, I still have that shirt somewhere.”

“Were you itchy?”

“…What?”

“You keep shaking your leg all the time – were you itchy?”

“…No.”

They obviously don’t understand how to rock out yet, which I shall have to teach them someday.

I watched this clip with no small sense of amazement – is that…me?  Did I really try to make it as a rock star in Hollywood??  Seven years, three children, and a hundred grey hairs later, I feel very little sense of connection to that person, almost as if it’s someone else entirely.  But in the end, I have to admit that it is me, even though that person’s life is so different from my own.  And even as I sat watching this video with my daughters, there was this twinge of remorse that I felt, that that part of my life had not gone as I had planned.

But as I watched, I was reminded of a Tweet that Donald Miller (Blue Like Jazz) sent out yesterday:

It’s snowing in Nashville. Im out in the hills and they’re looking new and fresh. Seasons were a great invention.

Seasons are a great invention, but only if we remember which direction they move.  It’s easy to look back at past seasons of life with a sense of chagrin or regret, that things did not turn out as you had hoped, or that you made some critical error in that time, as if in the midst of the winter, we regret not enjoying the summer more thoroughly.  How easy it is for our memory and emotions to get stuck in those bittersweet moments of life.

But we forget that the nature of seasons is that they progress forward, and there is always a new one around the corner.  It’s true that seasons of our life have passed, and perhaps we have not made as much of them as we could have, and should have.  But fortunately, there is also the season you currently find yourself, as well as the ones that are to come – new and fresh, like hills covered in fresh snow.  There is no sense in regretting the seasons that have passed when by their very nature, that is what they were supposed to do, in order to make room for new things instead.  Far better to look forward to what is to come, rather than spend your time regretting what will never be.

And so as I turn the corner into yet another new season of life, I want to do so with expectation, looking forward to the new things that God has in store for me.  It’s a new season, and that is a very good thing.

Calvin & Hobbes, Bill Watterson
Seasons: A Great Invention

So after two ridiculously heavy posts, I thought it was time for something a bit more light-hearted…

As most of you know, I’m considering a position as a worship pastor, and the church requires that I submit a video of me leading praise to go along with my application, which is actually quite wise.  So I’ve been rummaging through my hard drives, trying to find such a video, with no such luck.  But I DID stumble upon this  little gem, which is from way back in the day when I lived in LA:

My daughters watched this clip alongside of me, and their questions were very strange:

“Do you still have that shirt?”

“Yes, sweetheart, I still have that shirt somewhere.”

“Were you itchy?”

“…What?”

“You keep shaking your leg all the time – were you itchy?”

“…No.”

They obviously don’t understand how to rock out yet, which I shall have to teach them someday.
Continue reading “Seasons: A Great Invention”