My New Blogging Home!

My dear, dear readers:

Thank you so much for your support these past few years.  I feel like each of you has journeyed with me through some of the formative years and experiences of my life, and for that I am deeply thankful.  Quite frankly, this blog would have been nothing without each and every one of you!

And it is with great joy that I announce that I will be blogging from now on through Christianity Today, on a shiny new site that they have created just for me!  I am their first blogger of color, and I’m grateful for their trust, as well as the opportunity to share my family’s story with even more people.

I will keep up this blog with a few posts for the time being, but will probably not add new content in the future.  From now on, please visit my new blog:

http://www.christianitytoday.com/peter-chin

Again, thank you and see you on the other side!

Peter

18 thoughts on “My New Blogging Home!

    1. “on the other side” is just an expression i’m using to say “see you there.” and no, you don’t have to pay anything to read my blogs on CT.

  1. So glad you have the new blog website Peter. I clicked the link and went to it. Very nice and I particularly like the different categories near the top. As an African American I must admit that I was surprised to hear CT has had you on a blog website as a first person “of color”. I’m sure they have had articles by people of color in their magazine website and magazine, but blogging is the wave of the future so I hope they will expand that to reflect diversity. Your new blogsite’s category on “Race” is a welcome one. As you may have already known even today the subject of race is like the elephant in the room. It permeates so much of American culture especially in politics, but few people want to get into talking or blogging about it for fear it will have them go where they do not want to go. Having a little problem with my computer so I wasn’t able to scroll down to the bottom of your article on “Why I Celebrate Black History”, so I hope there is a way to comment on each article you blog at the new CT blogsite. God is good. I believe your experience at your church in DC will give you insights you may not have had otherwise.

  2. Hi Peter, I really like you new blog on CT. I find your posts to be funny, heartfelt, and passionate. Recently, I’ve noticed that your CT blog no longer accepts comments, which is unfortunate. I’ve noticed other bloggers like Amy Julia Becker have a comments section. Is this permanent?

    1. hi russ! thanks for the encouragement – unfortunately, it’s true that my blog doesn’t host comments. the comments that i received for my blog on being “angry” bordered so close to hate speech that they were shut down. i don’t know why it is, but there is an element of readers of CT that do not like discussions on race, even those as mild as mine was, and don’t hesitate to let their opinion be known in the most disgusting ways possible…sorry!!

      1. Hi Peter, thanks for the quick reply. It is unfortunate that the “angry” blog garnered so much hate speech. I really enjoyed reading others comments, but I am glad that I didn’t run across the hate speech on that post. I also enjoyed your blogpost on the letter to your son. I’ve commented on it (when your site was still accepting comments) and sent to my mother, who also enjoyed it. Please keep writing. I remarked to my wife the other day that I am amazed that you have so much creative energy to write and still seem like a devoted husband/father. God has given you a gift.

      2. thanks russ – i wish I could keep comments like yours and jettison the hateful ones! i like corresponding with readers, and did so assiduously on this blog. but man…the comments on CT really got me down. thank you for the encouragement brother!

      3. Hi Peter. I have really enjoyed this exchange. Thank you for your responses. It’s been encouraging to meet another brother in Christ who is concerned about the same things I am (race, family, the church, racial reconciliation), and who writes so thoughtfully and eloquently about these topics.

        So naturally, I was saddened to hear that you’ve been burdened by recent responses to your “anger” blog. First, I want to applaud you for speaking so transparently about the subject of race and anger. The bottom is I don’t think you wrote anything intentionally to hurt, condemn, or chastise others. I think you spoke about your perspective in a way that was honest and clear, but sometimes painful to those receiving the message. Having said all these things, in order for you to hear my comments with more authentically, I think it’s important to give you some background information about me.

        I am a Black Christian male, mid-30s, husband to a Black woman, and father (and expectant father). I grew up in predominately Black and Puerto Rican neighborhoods/schools/churches in NYC in the 1980s, and moved to the DC suburbs when I was a teenager. My high school was predominately white, and it was my first time living in a predominately white neighborhood. Needless to say, there was some culture shock. I went to a Historically Black College for undergrad, and have a PhD from a large state school. I am also a veteran. Currently, I attend a multiracial church in the DC metro area. My church denomination journey includes Pentecostal, then non-denominational, then Baptist, then Assemblies of God affiliation.

        Being a person of color who has had to navigate racial differences with others in many different settings, your blog about being angry resonated with me on many levels. As it related to anger and race, I have often felt that I could not express negative feelings in majority settings (like work), in the fear that I would be labeled ‘the angry black man’ by white people. This has caused me to be much more thoughtful about the way in which I present issues that bother me, as not to appear angry. When I have spoken up about things that have made me angry and my anger has leaked through, I have felt that there has been an inordinate amount of attention paid me. People either have avoided me (because I was ‘angry’) or they have encouraged me to be their mouthpiece for things that also anger them, but are unwilling to address. I enjoyed your blog partly because it gave a voice to what I have felt.

        As stated earlier, I thought your approach of tackling this subject was very thoughtful and nonjudgmental. I believe that the spirit of your post was not to point judgmental fingers at white folks, but to shed light on instances on insensitivity to issues of race and culture, often called racial microaggressions, that can happen in interactions between white people and people of color. It is sad that some folks were had strong negative reactions to this post, but I do think it’s quite common unfortunately. I think it’s difficult for some people to grapple with negative feedback (whatever it may be), even when couched as elegantly as you presented it. Also, communicating via blogs (versus face-to-face) makes it easier to misconstrue/misinterpret information, especially tone and intention. I just want to encourage you to keep writing (as I have often commented in your now defunct comments section on CT). You have a supporter in me.

      4. So – how can we comment? My color is ‘white’ but I live and work in Seoul, S Korea, and am glad you started / that CT let you blog through their magazine. Let us know how we can comment! Or, please ask CT to open the comment section again (CT can scrape off the hate comments).

      5. Hi Carol! Yes, the comments on my blog have been deactivated. I was torn about that, but think it’s for the best because I don’t have time to interact with everyone who comments, and yes, some of the comments were quite vile. But there is an active comment board on CT’s Facebook page, and that seems to be where people have been weighing in on articles. Or else you can also come to my own personal Facebook page (facebook.com/peterwchin) where you can comment there and interact with me personally.

  3. Just discovered your writings on the CT Blog, via the article on ‘hating’ contemporary Christian music. While I read your other articles with (hopefully) the proper mix of respect, challenge, etc. The article on music made me sad. I couldn’t post a comment there, which is slightly off-putting. (Not your fault, I know.) Not to be dissuaded, I came here in search of a place where I could climb up on a soapbox and have my say. So here we go…

    It seems that for ‘millennials,’ the world of ‘contemporary’ (how I hate that term!) Christian music is confined to ‘what they play on the radio’ — and it’s no wonder many have the negative reaction you describe. You are absolutely right in your observation that it is mostly shallow and ‘safe’ and really difficult to be proud of in the larger discussion of music.
    Maybe there is a word limit on the blog that forced you to into a simple “a vs. b” discussion. But that leaves the impression that you are unaware that there is a vast wealth of music, written by Christians, that explores life in-depth, that doesn’t conform to the formula, and that has no hope of ever making it into the rotation on your local CCM station.
    My journey of church hopping (if you can call 4 churches in 40 years ‘hopping’) is much like yours: mainline to charismatic to reformed and now, at 55, to an independent’ Baptist church where the worship music is informed mainly by a sort of Chris Tomlin/Isaac Watts axis. After a few months and a few discussions about music (which is obviously important to me, as evidenced by this lengthy commentary on your article about it!) the thing that was disquieting me came into focus: acceptable music must be either a) over 100 years or b) less that 10 years old. (Yeah, I’m generalizing, but I’ll bet you know what I mean.)
    But my wife and I came to faith during that “Jesus Movement” in the 1970s, and we grew up reading C.S.Lewis, Francis Schaeffer, and the like, and listening to a whole pile of artists who were more interested in exploring faith and life than in selling records. And so it saddens me when I see Christians who actually like the pop/rock style, but have never heard (or even heard of) artists like Mark Heard, Terry Taylor, or any of dozens of people who chose not to write to the ‘I was bad, now I’m better’ formula.
    So, when I read your article, my reaction was to encourage you to ditch the radio and fill up your iPod with The Violet Burning, Daniel Amos, The Lost Dogs, Switchfoot… any style you prefer. There are hundreds of artists that live and breathe in that place where these two worlds we inhabit collide. You just won’t typically find them on the radio.
    My final thought is this: radio stations have to play what “the masses” want to hear, or they cease to be viable. So while I tend to complain about the lack of depth I hear there, I understand that they are playing what the majority of their listeners say they want to hear. Does this mean that we, as a body, are really that shallow? Or is it that we don’t care enough to push for something deeper?

    1. thanks for this comment – you’re right, the word count of my blog doesn’t really allow me to do full justice to the range of Christian music that is available. i am aware of some Christian artists that break out of the CCM radio mold, although to be frank, they are precious few. but the main point of the article was not really about Christian music as much as it was about Christian musicians, and the pressures that they are under in their industry, and that Christian listeners should therefore give them more grace. but maybe if i have more time, i can write a follow up that showcases some other artists, including the ones you cataloged!

  4. I just read your “Swagger” post and I can’t thank you enough for it. My husband is a Cornell grad, full time chemist, pastoring (as a volunteer) a church plant in a poor, rural village of 600 people. Two years in and we’re going strong; I don’t want to take that for granted. Your post was a great reminder that it’s never been about us, and it never will be. Thank you.

  5. Thanks for sharing your journey through doubt and suffering – living in that world now and honestly I don’t see His presence / peace at all. Lots of silence and unanswered prayers. Please pray

  6. Thanks for your recent post on what it’s like to be a third culture. It really resonated with me as a Korean-American. Do you think you can address the topic of Asian-American churches in a future post? It’s a topic I’ve wrestled with. I used to attend a church that was mostly Asian-American, but would be criticized by white evangelicals for going to a church that was so narrowly focused. I even bought into the criticism, and stopped going, choosing instead to go to what I thought was a more “multi-ethnic” church, even though I was now going to a church that was 98% white with maybe a few African Americans (while the Asian-American church had many whites in attendance, and even had one white elder). Several white friends had even commented in the past about how I shouldn’t go to an Asian-American church, because that kind of church did not display the breakdown between ethnicities that has come in Christ. Of course, this was ironic given that most of these white friends were going to churches where all the elders were white. The double standard just drives me crazy, but I don’t know what the solution is, or what way there is to move forward. A part of me wants to rebel against the Asian bubble, but I also don’t feel home in a majority white church.

Comments are closed.